Simulation with COMSOL - uniform pressure

In summary, to plot the pressure distribution on a cut plane of a cube in COMSOL, you will need to define a 2D surface in the CAD model and then use a Variables node to define the pressure expression. This will allow the pressure to appear in the available plots in the Results section. You can then use the Plot Parametric Lines tool to visualize the pressure distribution on the cut plane.
leo92ra
Hi, anyone using COMSOL?
I'm new to this program and I'm trying to get a plot of the pressure distribution on a cut-plane of a cube. I have applied a boundary load of 4 MPa to the upper surface of the cube and fixed constraint to the bottom surface of the cube. Now, as a check, when plotting solid.pm at the upper surface, the pressure is not uniform and is around 3MPa at the centre. So, I think I'm not plotting the right function as I specifically told the program to apply a uniform pressure of 4MPa at the surface. What expression should I put to plot the pressure and how can I make it appear in the available plot list? I've tried also solid.pm and solid.cp, which are the only expressions available in the list, but they too give a wrong result. I've tried adding the pressure as a variable in the definitions, so that it should appear in the list of available plots in the result, but I don't know what to insert in the Expression space in Variables node. Any help is very much appreciated. Thanks, Leonardo.

Engineering news on Phys.org