Where does the 1/2 in 1/2 at^2 come from?

Astro-Eddie
TL;DR Summary
Why is distance=1/2 at^2? Can you explain without using calculus? (I'm not in B. I'm lower)
I am currently studying Newton's laws and mechanics. I have this question: Why is distance=half a*t^2? Where did the 1/2 come from? Can someone explain this without using calculus?

Physics news on Phys.org
Astro-Eddie said:
TL;DR Summary: Why is distance=1/2 at^2? Can you explain without using calculus? (I'm not in B. I'm lower)

I am currently studying Newton's laws and mechanics. I have this question: Why is distance=half a*t^2? Where did the 1/2 come from? Can someone explain this without using calculus?
No, sorry. The equation comes directly from the calculus involving integration and differentiation. How long until you take your first calculus class?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Equations_of_motion

• Skeptical
Likes topsquark and strangerep
A very simple explanation would be if you start from velocity = 0 and apply a constant acceleration, then if you plot velocity versus time it would form a triangular shape between the plot and the time axis.

1696905209754.png

The area under the curve is equal to the distance covered. What's the area of that triangle?

Likes PeroK, vanhees71, russ_watters and 9 others
Consider a constant acceleration from zero.
The area of the acceleration graph with time is velocity; v = a * t ;
The velocity graph is therefore a triangle against time.
The area of a triangle is = ½⋅height⋅base
The area under the velocity graph against time is displacement; s.
s = ½⋅v⋅t = ½⋅a⋅t² .

Likes ebg, vanhees71 and Lnewqban
(must.resist.urge.to.remind.that.areas.are.coming.from.integrations...) :wink:

• Haha
Likes pinball1970, vanhees71, russ_watters and 2 others
Astro-Eddie said:
TL;DR Summary: Why is distance=1/2 at^2? Can you explain without using calculus? (I'm not in B. I'm lower)