What is a good general relativity book for self-study?

In summary: I would recommend Exploring Black Holes by Kip Thorne if you're looking for an in-depth book on general relativity. It covers a lot of material and has more advanced math than either Spacetime Physics or the Schutz book. However, it may be too much for someone without a lot of experience with mathematics.If you're looking for a book that will have a more significant mathematical foundation, I would recommend Schutz's book. If you're looking for a more accessible book, Spacetime Physics may be a better option.
Hobold
Hello, I'm a Mechanical Engineering student and I want a good general relativity book to study, as this course isn't offered in my course and my credits are already exploding for me to get this course this/next semester, so I will be studying on my on.

Also, which pre-requisites would be good to have? I have a good calculus background and basic physics knowledge (University-level mechanics, waves, heat, fluids, eletromagnetism, modern physics, optics, etc)

Anything in Spanish, Portuguese, English, German, Italian or French is fine.

Physics news on Phys.org
What do you mean "University level"? If that is the introductory freshman course, then you're not prepared.

My university doesn't offer an undergraduate course in general relativity so my experience is from the graduate course. Our course realistically required a course in partial differential equations, differential geometry would have been nice, Jackson level electromagnetism (graduate level), and I suppose that is it... not that that's to be taken lightly!

Thanks for your answer. I thought I was eligible for it.

Thread may be closed.