Split 24 Vdc Input into Dual 12 Vdc Outputs: Power Divider Product Available?

• Thread starter DC1101
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Power
In summary, the conversation is about finding a product that can split a 24 Vdc/6.25 Amps input into two 12 Vdc/3 Amps outputs. Suggestions were made for a DC-DC converter, linear regulators, and switch-mode buck converters. The use of a buck converter was recommended due to its efficiency, and a specific product, the LM5642, was suggested for its dual output capabilities. The person seeking help expressed gratitude and mentioned that they were not familiar with this type of project.
DC1101
I'm a newbie and I apologize for not conducting a thorough search of the site before posting.

I need to know if there is a product available that will "split" input of 24 Vdc/6.25 Amps into two (2) outputs of 12 Vdc/3 Amps each. Anyone here know of such a thing or am I better off building something myself?

Thanks!

Engineering news on Phys.org
i was going to suggest DC-DC converter but i don't think they have any like that. How about just 2 12V linear regulator

http://search.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch/dksus.dll?Cat=2556290;keywords=12v%20regulator

filter the search for 3A output. You can just use a TO type package or could go smd getting D2PAK

Linear regulators are going to be very inefficient if they have to drop 12V and source 3A. They will dissipate a very large amount of heat.

Look into switch-mode buck converters instead.

- Warren

chroot said:
Linear regulators are going to be very inefficient if they have to drop 12V and source 3A. They will dissipate a very large amount of heat.

Look into switch-mode buck converters instead.

- Warren

i guess yeah 3A and 12V drop does seem a lot. buck converter is going to be noisy though but would be more efficient.

Most applications that demand 3A of current are not particularly sensitive to noise. DC1101, you might want to tell us more about your needs -- ripple tolerance, etc.

- Warren