Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Airplane design

1. Jul 3, 2006 #1
    Hi. I'm a middle school student messing around with some paper airplanes. I am wondering how the size of the paper I use affects the properties of flight like distance and flying time and how well the plane flies. I tried a few sizes of paper and found a good one. What controls this? I know you can't make a plane arbitrarily small or large, but what is the physics involved?

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 3, 2006 #2
    Hello AeroDynKid:
    What do you mean by "size of paper"? Do you mean only the thickness, or do you also mean the length and width? For any given length/width a greater thickness of the paper will provide a higher structural rigidity for your airplane design, but it will also increase the weight, and one thing about airplanes is you learn to keep weight to an absolute minimum!

Wing Aspect Ratio (AR) is something you should learn about if you have not already investigated it. The low relative airspeeds of a hand-thrown glider generally call for a higher aspect ratio for the wing planform. This is where stiffer/thicker paper can make for a better wing.

Static pitch stability margin (the distance between the airplane's center of gravity and the aerodynamic Lift/Drag center) is also important to understand. Make sure the airplane center of gravity is forward of the aerodynamic force center caused by the wing. This is why some people will fold a paper airplane and then attach a paper clip to its nose... this moves the center of gravity forward.

4. Jul 3, 2006 #3