An interesting situation and UBC questions

In summary, the individual is a high school sophomore with a passion for skiing and an interest in physics. They are considering attending a college in Utah, Colorado, or British Columbia that has a good physics program and allows them to continue pursuing skiing. They are particularly interested in the University of British Columbia (UBC) due to its location and the presence of TRIUMF. They have questions about balancing skiing and academics, the possibility of taking classes only during certain terms, their chances of getting into UBC, and the nature of physics work. They are also considering Quest University, a newer school with a unique approach to education.
a_skier
Hello PF,

I am a Sophomore in high school in the US and have already led what I would consider to be a pretty awesome life, but I have an interesting dilemma.

All my life I have loved to ski, I ski competitively, and I believe that if I continue to pursue skiing I could possibly become a professional. Last year I left school and entered into a Online school so I could pursue skiing without having to worry about failing my classes.* (I travel a lot).

In addition to skiing I have always had an affinity for math, it has come fairly easy to me all of my life, and I also have a fascination for space exploration and physics. I have always been an adventurer, but even more so, I have wanted to change the world in a profound way, or "Put a dent in the Universe," as Steve Jobs would say. I have realized skiing is (obviously), not a great path to do that. I'm coming to realize there are a myriad of ways which I can do that, I am not only interested in Physics, but philosophy, consciousness, enlightenment and what it could mean for the human race, and the basic human perception of what we call reality.