Antenna for a specific frequency ?

In summary: Basically, you would need to put a barrier between the antenna and any objects behind it, in order to stop interference.
shuby
Hi,

We're trying to build a simple antenna that's able to pick up a frequency of 457 KHz from a maximum distance of 20 metres.

I'm totally new to this stuff, so I looked up the yagi antenna and some formulas used to determine the length of the antenna, but the results I got were huge compared to all other low frequency antennas I know(AM radios for examples are not that long)

So I thought since our transmitter will be 20 metres far, maybe any sort of antenna should be able to pick up the signal from a small distance, maybe all we need is a good filter and an efficient amplifier ?

-What would be the best solution ? (Is it possible to use a toy's controller antenna for this ?)
-I know the formulas for band-pass RLC series filters look like this

f = 1/(2pi sqrt LC) Q = 2pi f L /R and Q = f/B
I read somewhere that we take Q= f/B if we have a range of frequencies or Q = 5
but how does it really work in practice ? and what's the best way to choose the others variables ?

-What kind of amplifiers should we use ?
-Any other advices ?

Thanks for your help!

Engineering news on Phys.org
shuby said:
Hi,

We're trying to build a simple antenna that's able to pick up a frequency of 457 KHz from a maximum distance of 20 metres.

I'm totally new to this stuff, so I looked up the yagi antenna and some formulas used to determine the length of the antenna, but the results I got were huge compared to all other low frequency antennas I know(AM radios for examples are not that long)

So I thought since our transmitter will be 20 metres far, maybe any sort of antenna should be able to pick up the signal from a small distance, maybe all we need is a good filter and an efficient amplifier ?

-What would be the best solution ? (Is it possible to use a toy's controller antenna for this ?)