Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Aquariums

1. Dec 12, 2004 #1
    Does anyone have aquarium?
    I just bought 120L tank with all the equipment for 200$.
    I want to have only plants in my tank.
    Do you guys have any experience with keeping plants in aquariums?

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 12, 2004 #2
    Only plants? No Fish?

I don't know. I really don't. Last time i had a pet (hamster), i killed it. So i am no pro at pet-maintenance.

4. Dec 12, 2004 #3
    You have no idea how cool planted aquariums look.I have seen couple in the pet store,amazing underwater jungle.
    Of course there is lots of work keeping plants(CO2,lighting,nutrients) healthy.
    At least i'm gonna have something to do, because for last 6 months I lost interest in learning science.

PS. no fish, i don't want to be involved in trafficing of animals and keeping them inprisoned.

Last edited: Dec 12, 2004
  5. Dec 12, 2004 #4
    To have a truly healthy aquarium you need fish with your plants. they put CO2 in the water and they fertilize the plants. besides fish are so cool. Also, plants are much harder to keep than fish. I have only once ever had a plant last more than a year for me. They always seem to wither away. Good luck though !!!

6. Dec 12, 2004 #5
    As a general rule for plants you want more than one Watt of light and less than 3 per gallon of water your tank has. So you are going to want between 30 and 90 watts. just for future reference, It is easier to keep plants in a much larger tank. Smaller tank usually come with inadequate hoods that don't hold enough fixtures.

7. Dec 12, 2004 #6