Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Basic Multivariable Proof Equating Determinant to dot/cross product

1. Jun 3, 2013 #1
    Hello folks! Just a concise introduction of myself before I get to the task at hand: I'm new to these forums although I have been surfing them frequently for the past 5 years! I am not a math major and quite frankly, my skills in the subject are limited. Be that as it may, my fascination for math has inspired me to pursue a career in either pure math or computational science. My name is Mark and I'm an undergrad Uni student.

K, now on to the task at hand: I am not familiar with symbolic/notation input on these forums so I apologize in advance for my crude way of displaying the question in a pictorial format. Simply put, my goal in the picture is to equate the determinant of vectors A, B and C to the dot product of vector A and (vector B cross-product vector C).

Wow that sounded stupid! Lol, please excuse my naïveté. I have a STRONG feeling I am doing something incorrectly. Can anyone please steer me in the right direction?:

[Broken]

Last edited by a moderator: May 6, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Jun 3, 2013 #2

lurflurf

Homework Helper

Well clearly (using your notation)
    $$\mathop{det} ( \vec{A} , \vec{B} , \vec{C} )=\vec{A} \cdot ( \vec{B} \times \vec{C})$$

as there is only one function that has the properties each side has, they must be equal.
    This could be shown different ways, but I like.
    $$\mathop{det} ( \tau \vec{A} , \tau \vec{B} , \tau \vec{C} )=\mathop{det} ( \vec{A} , \vec{B} , \vec{C} )$$
    and
    $$\mathop{det} ( \vec{i} , \vec{j} , \vec{k} )=1$$
    where $$\tau$$ is any rotation
    These properties determine det uniquely
    since $$\vec{A} \cdot ( \vec{B} \times \vec{C})$$ has these properties as well the two are equal.

4. Jun 3, 2013 #3

lurflurf

Homework Helper