Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Best physics problem ever

1. Nov 7, 2009 #1
    Dear Sir,

I am a high school student and have a problem.

My teacher and I were talking about Satan. Of course you know that when he fell from heaven, he fell for nine days, and nine nights, at 32 feet a second and was increasing his speed every second.

I was told there was a foluma [formula] to it. I know you don't have time for such little things, but if possible please send me the foluma.

Thank you, Jerry

Quite possibly a letter sent to Einstein by a child, I was told.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 7, 2009 #2

Danger

Gold Member

The formula is simple; there's no such thing as Satan. :rolleyes:

4. Nov 7, 2009 #3
    Some theorists believe LHC will spawn him :devil: Watch and laugh:

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 25, 2014
  5. Nov 7, 2009 #4

FredGarvin

Science Advisor

That assumes that the acceleration due to gravity between Heaven and Hell is constant and equal to that of the Earth.

6. Nov 7, 2009 #5
    Then we could calculate the distance between heaven and hell.

It seems surprisingly small.

Maybe this is actually a telling metaphor?

7. Nov 7, 2009 #6

DaveC426913

Gold Member

Just for fun though...

At what altitude is Heaven, by this logic.

9 days' fall to Earth, accounting for gravitational gradient, would give us what altitude?

8. Nov 7, 2009 #7