Best Tool for Basic PIC Programming

In summary, the person is interested in making a project involving using PICs, but they are a newbie and don't know which tool is easiest, cheapest, or best suited for them. They want to try creating a circuit that plays music and the LEDs would light up in sync with it and are thinking about trying to mix it up a little once they learn more. They recommend learning PIC programming in C or assembly language first, and buying a pickit 3 kit to get started.
Draff
Good day to you all,

I'm starting to get interested in making a project which involves using PICs but since I am a newbie at this I want to start by making a PIC blink LEDs like in christmas lights. But upon looking it up on the net I was bombarded with multiple options for "basic PIC programming tools" like arduino, raspberi pi, pickit3, etc. Now since I am just starting and I don't have the luxury of buying multiple tools, I need to know which is easiest, cheapest, and best suited for someone like me. Because as I read about raspberi pi it was, in itself, a built in computer which might be hella pricey for just a microcontroller for sparkly lights. And for the arduino, a comment mentioned that it works only for atmel(i think) PICs, does that mean it doesn't work for regular PICs?

To simplify my current project in mind, I would like to try creating a circuit that plays music and the LEDs would light up in sync with it. I kinda want to try mixing it up a little once I learn PIC programming.

Engineering news on Phys.org
If you truly want to learn about PIC microcontrollers and not a bunch of other 'can be loosely associated with a PIC' stuff then buy a pickit 3 kit and learn to program it in C or assembly language. You can get a head start by downloading MPLAB and getting used to that environment. A search on this forum will also turn up some useful results.

Not necessarily PIC but a variety of micro-controllers: