Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Black hole

1. Nov 4, 2007 #1
    black hole....

hello everyone...

though i am a student of information technology i love astronomy very much.i have a question for all of u. that is..." does black holes really emit nothing...does really everything going inside a black hole can't come outside of it??"

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 4, 2007 #2

Chris Hillman

Science Advisor

No. (Or maybe yes! But that probably doesn't mean what you might think!)

Hi, srijani,

You asked whether it is really true that nothing which "enters a black hole" (falls past the event horizon) can remerge.

A good short answer might be: yes, according to gtr this is pretty much the defining characteristic of a black hole.