Boolean Reduction: Can It Be Reduced?

• Thread starter lespaul5895
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Reduction
In summary, the expression (\overline a \overline b \overline c)+(a \overline b \overline c)+(\overline a \overline b d) is not reducible. The asker has attempted to reduce it but has not found a way to do so, and is wondering if \overline b \overline c+\overline a \overline b d is the answer. The responder confirms that this is the correct answer, and suggests using K-maps for future problems as they are more efficient than using algebra to simplify expressions.
lespaul5895
[tex]([/tex][tex]\overline a \overline b \overline c)[/tex][tex]+[/tex][tex]([/tex][tex]a \overline b \overline c)[/tex][tex]+[/tex][tex]([/tex][tex]\overline a \overline b d)[/tex]
is this reducable?
I'm new to this as you may be able to tell, but I've went through this and have not found a way to reduce it, well I thought I had but then when I make a truth table the results don't match. Please help me out if you can, I'd greatly appreciate it.

edit: is [tex]\overline b \overline c[/tex][tex]+[/tex][tex]\overline a \overline b d[/tex] the answer?

Last edited:
Engineering news on Phys.org
The answer looks right to me. Btw, K-maps are helpful for these problems.

yeah, thanks. We just learned about kmaps today in class as a matter of fact. seems much easier than trying to reduce through algebra lol

1. What is Boolean reduction?

Boolean reduction is a mathematical process that simplifies complex Boolean expressions by reducing them to their simplest form. It involves using logical operators, such as AND, OR, and NOT, to evaluate and simplify logical statements.

2. How does Boolean reduction work?