Light from Train Scenario: Student Question Explained

In summary, the discussion in physics class about the 'bullet fired from a train scenario' concluded that the bullet would travel at 1000 km/h relative to the ground. However, at higher speeds close to the speed of light, relativistic addition of velocities must be used. This was demonstrated through the example of a torch being shone in the same direction as the train, where the speed of the wavefront would be slightly slower than the speed of light. This highlights the importance of understanding relativistic principles when dealing with high velocities.
Fred Choi
I am a student, and a few days ago in physics class we were discussing about the 'bullet fired from a train scenario', where e.g. if a train is heading towards a certain direction at 200 km/h and a bullet is fired at 800 km/h, the bullet would travel at 1000 km/h relative to the ground. However, one my friends asked an interesting question that even my teacher struggled to answer:
What if a torch was shone in the same direction as the train was travelling? Would the wave travel at the speed of light plus the speed of the train? But after all, nothing travels faster than the speed of light. Please help me with this! Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
The simple addition of velocities is only valid for velocities much smaller than the speed of light. 800 km/h and 1000 km/h are both much smaller than the speed of light and therefore it is a (very) good approximation to assume simple addition of velocities. When you deal with velocities close to the speed of light, you need to use relativistic addition of velocities, which is given by
$$
v' = \frac{v+u}{1+\frac{uv}{c^2}}.
$$

Suggested exercise: Try this out for v = 800 km/h and u = 200 km/h and see how much the result differs from 1000 km/h.

Fred Choi said: