Calculation of the battery pack voltage for an EV

In summary, the conversation discusses the calculation of the final battery voltage for an electric vehicle. An automotive engineer is seeking clarification on whether putting together 100 individual modules in series, each running at 3.6V, will reach the required voltage of 360V for the DC motor. The specified power of the motor is 93 kW, which results in a current of 258 Amps, causing concern for the engineer.
marellasunny
I'm a Automotive engineer and hence lack the electrical engineering expertise that you might expect.

This is related to a doubt I have in calculating the final battery voltage for an electrical vehicle. This is just a calculation query. I have a module consisting of 12 individual Li-ion cells that together supply a voltage of 3.6V and have a combined battery capacity of 125.25 Wh. Eventually, my entire battery pack powers a DC motor that's specified to run between 360V-400V.

Question:
Is it enough that I put together 100 of these individual modules in series (each running at 3.6V) to reach a value of 360V, thereby concurring to the specs. of the DC motor? or are there other things from the DC motor data I need to take into account?

Engineering news on Phys.org
marellasunny said:
I'm a Automotive engineer and hence lack the electrical engineering expertise that you might expect.

This is related to a doubt I have in calculating the final battery voltage for an electrical vehicle. This is just a calculation query. I have a module consisting of 12 individual Li-ion cells that together supply a voltage of 3.6V and have a combined battery capacity of 125.25 Wh. Eventually, my entire battery pack powers a DC motor that's specified to run between 360V-400V.

Question: