Can You Control Voluntary Muscle Movements?

• Thread starter Jamez
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Muscle
In summary: There has not been a study specifically asking people if they can move their scrotum up and down, but it can be learned through practice. There is evidence that muscle movements can be learned, and that martial artists can control a lot more of their muscles through meditative techniques. There is no evidence that muscle movements are completely an evolutionary trait, and that they are either genetic or determined at birth. Some people are born with the ability to vibrate their own eardrums, but that is definitely weird.
Jamez
Why is it that some people can move muscles and others can't?
Like why can't i flare my nostrals?
is it weird my friend can voluntary contract and relax his scrotum up and down?

please post any strange voluntary muscle movments you can do.
Why can somepeople do it and not others?

Biology news on Phys.org
i have a freakish degree of control. i can flare my nostrils, move my toes with some control, my nose, my ears, my whole...general...scalp region, my pecs, and i can move my tongue and adams apple both really fast. i can do the scrotum thing too. just suck it up, then let it go. penis too, contract and relax.

p.s. this topic is very disturbing

The scrotum thing is kinda rare but not unheard-of. And those who do not naturally posses the ability can learn it with lots of rpactice. In fact, it is taught as a martial-art technique to protect against groin kicks.

My younger daughter can make multiple folds in the tip of her tongue. It's really weird, I've seen some people on tv do it.

rare? yay i feel so special

I have verticle scrotum control, didn't think it was special...