Can you point me in the right direction for self learning?

In summary, Clark is a programmer who has a keen interest in physics. He struggles with maths and has difficulty understanding vector calculus. He would benefit from a book on statics and dynamics and from starting with Wikipedia, free online sources. He would also benefit from solving physics problems.
grandpaw
Hi there everyone.

I am a programmer not long out of University and i have a really keen interest in a particular physics engine.

Physics is far beyond my current range of ability and so is a lot of maths :( but i have spent a long time trying to get some kind of an entry point.

Firsty right back at the start. If i am talking about these concepts, what exactly do i need to look for a book on?

LinearVelocity
LinearDamping
AngularVelocity
AngularDamping
Motors
Joints - Prismatic, Revolute, Distance
Torque
Impulse
Force
Mass
Collision

These concepts are applied to only 2d rigid bodies such as Circles or Polygons. It is clear that this is some form of physics, but as a beginner, where can i go to find a book on this subject? If books are likely to be too complex, where do i need to start from to begin with?

I have some broad understanding of what each of these concepts do but the next portion i find mind blowing is the maths.

All of this stuff seems to work with Scalars or Vectors. I spent all morning on Amazon looking for 2d Vector maths but i couldn't come up with anything relevant.

To give an example of why i need Vector maths, let's take a brick [] now pretend this brick is a car wheel. I need to figure out the angle of the brick, the linear velocity of the brick and i also need to cancel out the "Sideways" velocity. Wheels don't roll sideways.

I know that by using vectors, i could no doubt find out what forces are acting on the side of the brick and somehow cancel them out but i don't want to just get an answer for this... i want to understand what i am dealing with.