What are the job opportunities for computer engineering majors?

In summary, the individual is seeking advice on whether computer engineering is a viable major, as they are unsure of the job opportunities and potential for making a difference. They have had one positive experience with a representative from Raytheon, but are still considering switching to electrical engineering. They are looking for input from current or professional engineers on the advantages and opportunities in both fields. They also mention a forum for further discussion on this topic.
Iron_Brute
College "Major" Question

I'm not sure if this would be the right place to ask this question since the other engineering sections seem to deal more with work problems.
Currently I am majoring in computer engineering, and I still don't have an idea of what areas a computer engineer would be useful. Everything I see in my classes seem to be geared for electrical or mechanical engineers and it looks like there are more job opportunity for that type of engineering.

The only thing that I know is I talked to a rep. from Raytheon who said they were in dire need foe CE but that was the only good thing I heard about my major.

If maybe some people who are CE in college, or professional engineers could offer some insight about CE, or EE and explain if one specific engineer has an advantage another in terms of work opportunity, and making a difference, or anything.

I'm almost done with my freshman year but I still have until the end of next year where I can switch my major to EE without losing any credits, and I would like to know asap, I wouldn't want to lose any time or waste more money than I have to.

Physics news on Phys.org