Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Complex orthogonality of electric and magnetic fields

1. Jan 9, 2012 #1
    Hi,

I have a hard time finding a justification that electric and magnetic fields are still orthogonal when presented in complex form. As far as I know the notion of orthogonality for complex vectors is not as intuitive as the one for real vectors. Notably, [itex]\vec{x}\cdot\vec{y}=0[/itex] does not imply that [itex]\Re(\vec{x})\cdot\Re(\vec{y})=0[/itex] (the former dot product is a complex one, the latter is a real one).

Similarly, does the cross product relation between the electric field, the magnetic field, and the wave vector still hold?

Cheers,
    V.

PS: I'm a novice in electromagnetism and a novice on this forum, please tell me if I did not respect any rule that I would be unaware of.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 9, 2012 #2
    Am I right by observing that all complex vectors that we meet in electromagnetism can be written as [itex]z\vec{x}[/itex] where [itex]z\in ℂ[/itex] but [itex]\vec{x}\in ℝ^{n}[/itex]?

In this case the complex cross and dot products can be easily reduced to their real counterparts:
    [itex]z_1\vec{x_1}\odot z_2\vec{x_2}=(z_1z_2)(\vec{x_1}\cdot\vec{x_2})[/itex]
    and
    [itex]z_1\vec{x_1}\otimes z_2\vec{x_2}=(z_1z_2)(\vec{x_1}\times\vec{x_2})[/itex]
    where [itex]\cdot[/itex] and [itex]\times[/itex] (resp. [itex]\odot[/itex] and [itex]\otimes[/itex]) are the real (resp. complex) dot and cross products.
    At least this somewhat allows to retrieve the geometrical interpretation... ?

V.

4. Jan 10, 2012 #3
    The orthogonality holds. The dot operation takes place on the real basis vectors. The complex coefficients just go along for the ride.

5. Jan 10, 2012 #4

vanhees71

Science Advisor
    2016 Award