Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Concerning Stellar Evolution

1. May 28, 2007 #1
    Hello I am a student in high school and my physics teacher is a complete idiot. He just gave us a project to draw the life cycle of stars without even teaching the class. I am completely lost. Can someone help me draw the life cycle of stars that includes
    small: G-yellow
    K-orange
    M-Red
    Medium: A-white
    F-yellow
    Large: O-blue
    B- Blue white

By the way, can you please reply in words a high school student can understand. I am so lost I don't even know the color to draw the stars.

2. jcsd
  3. May 28, 2007 #2
    What do you mean "draw the life cycle of stars"? like on a H-R diagram?

all these stars lie on the main sequence on the H-R diagram.
    since the H-R diagram is a graph of Luminosity versus temperature or spectral type (OBAFGKM), the O stars are on the upper left hand corner and the M type stars are on the lower right hand corner.
    you might want to look here:
    http://www.le.ac.uk/ph/faulkes/web/images/hrcolour.jpg
    O-blue- hottest, most massive. live the shortest amount of time. "bright but brief"
    B- Blue white
    A-white
    F-yellow
    G-yellow- average life and mass realtively speaking. Our sun is an example.
    K-orange
    M-Red-coolest, least massive. live the longest amount of time.

hope that helps.

Last edited: May 28, 2007
  4. May 29, 2007 #3

Chronos

Science Advisor
    Gold Member
    2015 Award