Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Dating after college - tough?

1. Jul 9, 2011 #1
    I graduated college and am looking at moving to a new place. I would like to hear some stories and experiences of people who were single after college, and how difficult/easy the dating game was in "the grown up world".

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 10, 2011 #2

Pyrrhus

Homework Helper

It depends how extrovert you are. Are you afraid to talk to strangers? Do you find yourself chatting with women in supermarkets? parks? your building? or any other place?

Do you mind taking up other activities such as dancing? or gym? or other where you might meet new friends.

4. Jul 10, 2011 #3

Pengwuino

Gold Member

okcupid.com

teehee.

5. Jul 10, 2011 #4
    Yes, but this limits you to mostly single mom's and nutcases.

It can be difficult depending on the area you live in and type of person you are looking to date. I prefer the smart and well educated type which was pretty much non-existent where I lived and work right after I graduated. Although my love life hasn't really changed much now that I'm back in school, if I actually had time to date I imagine it would be much easier going in school and living in a college town full of people my age.

6. Jul 10, 2011 #5

Pengwuino

Gold Member

Nonsense.

Or well, maybe.

A few of us have gone onto OKC to laugh at peoples profiles (actually it turns out only people in Belgium have profiles that are hilarious) and it's really not that bad. The internet dating scene really seems to be maturing. I have yet to be swindled out of $10,000 for a nigerian princess.

7. Jul 10, 2011 #6

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

When you're on OKC, you might get messages from people who want to make "movies" in their basement. But aside from that, it's a pretty cool site :biggrin:

8. Jul 10, 2011 #7