Definition of Principal Value

In summary: Apparently the textbook is using a different convention.In summary, the textbook defines the principal value of z^c, where both variables are complex, to be e^{c\; \text{Log }z}, where \text{Log} is the principal value branch of the complex logarithm. However, when calculating z^c with z = i and c = 3, it may not always result in the principal value. This is because the textbook reduces the value without explanation. In general, any complex number to a positive integer power is single valued. However, if z^c has both variables complex, such as i^{3i}, then the principal value is e^{-3\pi}, according to the textbook's
hbweb500
I am studying complex variables with Brown and Churchill. In it, they define the principal value of [tex]z^c[/tex], with both variables complex, to be [tex] e^{c\; \text{Log }z} [/tex], where [tex]\text{Log}[/tex] is the principle value branch of the complex logarithm.

Now, suppose [tex] z = i [/tex] and [tex] c = 3 [/tex]. We know that [tex] \text{Arg } i = \frac{\pi}{2} [/tex], so [tex] z^c = i^3 = e^{3 \pi / 2} [/tex]. But is this really the principal value? Why don't we say [tex] e^{- \pi/2} [/tex] is the principal value?

I ask because it seems like that is what the textbook does in one of its examples: it calculates
[tex]z^c[/tex] to be something with an angle outside of [tex]-\pi < \theta \leq \pi [/tex], and just reduces it without explanation.

So, when finding the principle value of [tex]z^c[/tex] after we have done the calculation, or is simply using the principle value branch logarithm enough?

Mathematics news on Phys.org
Log already chooses a principal value by only taking i Arg z for the complex part. Hence it isn't necessary to introduce further conventions to get an principal value for z^c.

Anyhow, your exponential should have an i upstairs I think, so that it doesn't matter whether the exponent is -i pi/2 or i 3 pi/2.