1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Difference between Civil Engineering Physics and non C.E. Physics?

1. Mar 23, 2009 #1
    Whats the difference? i know that after 3 years you become a c.e. but what about the other one? Dont know which one to apply for.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 24, 2009 #2
    nobody wants to answer?

4. Mar 24, 2009 #3

Pyrrhus

Homework Helper

Hello, I am a civil engineer doing a MSc in Transportation Engineering.

I don't understand your question. What do you mean?

5. Mar 24, 2009 #4
    I could take Civil Engineering in Physics (aka technical physics) its 5years or i could take physics in university which doesnt give a civil engineering degree.

Here is the civil engineering description:
    http://www.kth.se/studies/swedish-programmes/msc/1.7784?l=en_UK [Broken]

The other one is just called Physics.

Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2017
  6. Mar 24, 2009 #5

djeitnstine

Gold Member

So what you're asking is what is the difference between being a civil engineering degree and physics?

7. Mar 24, 2009 #6
    yes C.E in physics and physics.

8. Mar 24, 2009 #7

djeitnstine

Gold Member

Well civil engineers design roads, airports, bridges, dams etc. So logically CE physics would be the physics of those structures. You would mostly cover statics and solids, heat transfer, oscillations, wave theory etc... However, physics is just what it says, physics. My guess is the program you are looking at could be diverse and include some of the aforementioned topics and more, such as modern physics, intro to quantum mech, electricity and other cool stuff physicists do.

Oh and thermodynamics would be common to them both

But upperlevel classes in that school for CE physics is anyone's guess though but I just listed a few focus topics