Diffraction by a perfectly conducting cylinder using UTD?

In summary, the book is very complex and I'm not sure if I understand everything. I would need to learn more about GTD and UTD in order to model the diffraction of EM waves by a cylinder.
whitenight541
Diffraction by a perfectly conducting cylinder using UTD?!

Hi all,

Does anybody know the equations needed to predict the diffraction of electromagnetic waves by a perfectly conducting cylinder using UTD?
I want to use these equations in ray tracing.
I tried to read some papers and a book "Introduction to the Uniform Geometrical Theory of Diffraction" .. They were so complicated and I didn't understand anything actually (I'm a computer science student :) ).

Thanks in advance.

Science news on Phys.org

I think you have to consider two extremes: When the wavelength is much less than the diameter of the cylinder, and when the wavelengths is much more. In one case the reflection is specular, and in the other, it is re radiated. But both will produce interference effects at large distances.

I'm not sure I totally understand you.

When the wavelength is bigger than the dimensions of an object, the waves suffer scattering and when the wavelength is small compared to the dimensions of an object, the waves suffer reflection. right?

What does this has to do with diffraction? and what equations can I use to model diffraction? (Equations or reference would be fine)

Thanks in advance