1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

DIRE NEED of HELP on HARDEST Physics Problem Ever

1. May 4, 2008 #1
    Ok, so I am in the middle of what is known as the "axe hunt" at my school. It is the culminating event of the year. The seniors puts together a scavenger hunt that is supposed to take 24 hours consisting of various clues that will require juniors to use their athletic and intellectual abilities. Anyway, to the point - I am an AP mechanics student and the physics problems they gave us this year are E&M problems which I am completely unfamiliar with. The E&M students have been struggling for the last 30 minutes. I have posted the page long problem as an attachment. Any physics gurus want to help save our class some face by solving it?

If you get the answer feel free to call me at <cell number removed by cristo>; I will be checking the forums every 5 minutes. Once again, the problem is in the attachment

Attached Files:

Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2008
  2. jcsd
  3. May 4, 2008 #2
    If you posted your image on some kind of image site I could give it a shot.
  4. May 4, 2008 #3

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

Or you could just look at the image here :wink:
  5. May 4, 2008 #4
  6. May 4, 2008 #5
    Ok, the seniors just gave us the answer. I may be back with another problem later, but I think this it for now. the answer was .46 rad/s
  7. May 4, 2008 #6
    I'm having trouble understanding the exact set up. The problem so far looks like it is just a bunch of chains to link: an RC circuit has a current flow through the ring, the ring creates an electric field, which then exerts a force onto the charge (the ball), which then starts moving and is acted upon by the lorentz force. Finally the ball crashes into the sphere.