1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Does this epsilon delta limit proof check out?

1. Nov 11, 2012 #1
    I started learning how to do these things today and boy, they take some interesting logic. Anyway, here's my attempt at one:

prove that the limit as (x,y) → (0,0) of [(x^2)(siny)^2]/(x^2 + 2y^2) exists

Here's what I did:

0<√(x^2 + y^2) < δ, |[(x^2)(siny)^2]/(x^2 + 2y^2) - 0| < ε.

x^2 ≤ x^2 + y^2 since y^2 ≥ 0

so it follows that
    (x^2)(siny)^2]/(x^2 + 2y^2) ≤ (siny)^2 < ε

siny < y for all y > 0
    (siny)^2 < y^2
    (siny)^2 < x^2 + y^2 = δ^2

(x^2)(siny)^2]/(x^2 + 2y^2) ≤ (siny)^2 < δ^2 < ε ∴ limit exists at (0,0)

Does this work?

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 11, 2012 #2
    You might have made a common mistake, but I might be wrong.

You want to find a [itex]\delta[/itex] so that you can get from [itex]0 < x^2 + y^2 < \delta[/itex] (*) to

[itex]| \frac{x^2 \sin^2(y)}{x^2 + 2y^2} - 0| < \epsilon[/itex] (**)

by good old, cold, mathematical logic and stuff (it would be good to state beforehand that your trying to show that the limit is 0, which I believe it is--I mean, you did, but in English, for sake of us reading). So, it seems like you've got the right idea, but it seems you assumed both (*) and (**) and went from there, which doesn't make sense, here. Also, I don't know how you concluded that

[itex]\sin^2(y) < \epsilon[/itex]

because you only know that

[itex]\frac{x^2 \sin^2(y)}{x^2 + 2y^2} < \epsilon[/itex]

and that

[itex]\frac{x^2 \sin^2(y)}{x^2 + 2y^2} \leq \sin^2(y)[/itex]

(because, maybe [itex]\sin^2(y) \geq \epsilon[/itex].)

A great trick for proving these kinds of limits is often the following. Prove that

[itex]|\frac{x^2 \sin^2(y)}{x^2 + 2y^2}| \leq 0[/itex]