Does this epsilon delta limit proof check out?

In summary, if you have a function f(x) that is less than or equal to |x| for all x, then the limit of [(x^2)(siny)^2]/(x^2 + 2y^2) exists at (0,0).
PeteyCoco
I started learning how to do these things today and boy, they take some interesting logic. Anyway, here's my attempt at one:

prove that the limit as (x,y) → (0,0) of [(x^2)(siny)^2]/(x^2 + 2y^2) exists

Here's what I did:

0<√(x^2 + y^2) < δ, |[(x^2)(siny)^2]/(x^2 + 2y^2) - 0| < ε.

x^2 ≤ x^2 + y^2 since y^2 ≥ 0

so it follows that
(x^2)(siny)^2]/(x^2 + 2y^2) ≤ (siny)^2 < ε

siny < y for all y > 0
(siny)^2 < y^2
(siny)^2 < x^2 + y^2 = δ^2

(x^2)(siny)^2]/(x^2 + 2y^2) ≤ (siny)^2 < δ^2 < ε ∴ limit exists at (0,0)

Does this work?

Physics news on Phys.org
You might have made a common mistake, but I might be wrong.

You want to find a [itex]\delta[/itex] so that you can get from [itex]0 < x^2 + y^2 < \delta[/itex] (*) to

[itex]| \frac{x^2 \sin^2(y)}{x^2 + 2y^2} - 0| < \epsilon[/itex] (**)

by good old, cold, mathematical logic and stuff (it would be good to state beforehand that your trying to show that the limit is 0, which I believe it is--I mean, you did, but in English, for sake of us reading). So, it seems like you've got the right idea, but it seems you assumed both (*) and (**) and went from there, which doesn't make sense, here. Also, I don't know how you concluded that

[itex]\sin^2(y) < \epsilon[/itex]

because you only know that

[itex]\frac{x^2 \sin^2(y)}{x^2 + 2y^2} < \epsilon[/itex]

and that

[itex]\frac{x^2 \sin^2(y)}{x^2 + 2y^2} \leq \sin^2(y)[/itex]

(because, maybe [itex]\sin^2(y) \geq \epsilon[/itex].)

A great trick for proving these kinds of limits is often the following. Prove that

[itex]|\frac{x^2 \sin^2(y)}{x^2 + 2y^2}| \leq 0[/itex]

If you can prove that, then by a theorem of limits often referred to as the "squeeze theorem," the limit must be 0. Of course, you can just write out the absolute value in its two cases and see why its true.