1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Courses Does this group theory course look useful to a physicist?

1. Sep 15, 2016 #1
    I'm in my 3rd year of a physics degree, with plans to study further in graduate school. I am currently enrolled in a group theory class, as I have heard it can be useful in many fields (particularly solid state physics, which I am interested in learning more about). However, so far all we have covered are things like the well ordering principle and some theorems about greatest common divisors. This is the course description:
    Does this look like it could be useful, or would I be better off studying more applied group theory on my own?

Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 15, 2016 #2

fresh_42

Staff: Mentor

Well, it's the basics of group theory. IMO one should know those basics for several reasons:
    1. You won't be surprised, if groups show up, that you haven't heard of before.
    2. You will get used to group theoretical methods which apply to your groups of interest, too.
    3. In solid state physics especially finite groups of geometric symmetries play an important role. So the program fits.
    4. Those guys show up nearly everywhere in physics. You can't know beforehand which you will actually need.
    5. Actions, homomorphisms etc. apply basically to other objects as well: rings, modules, vector spaces etc. So it's good to learn them at least once in greater detail.

4. Sep 16, 2016 #3