EE to AE Grad Studies; Aerospace/Defense Industry

In summary: I'm not familiar with it. I can say that an MS in AE is a great way to start in the defense industry. There are a lot of opportunities for people with an AE degree, and you can always specialize later if you want. There are also a lot of opportunities to work in the aerospace and defense industries after you finish your MS.
sloan13
I am currently an electrical engineering student, and I was wondering if it was possible to get a master's degree in AE if you have a BS or MS in EE. I know I at least want a master's in EE. I would like to work in the aerospace and defense industries. Are there many EE opportunities in this area.

Physics news on Phys.org
Yes it is possible to get a master's degree in AE with a BS in EE. some of my fellow new hires at a defense company are working towards AE degrees, and 2 of them have EE backgrounds.

Likes 1 person
donpacino said:
Yes it is possible to get a master's degree in AE with a BS in EE. some of my fellow new hires at a defense company are working towards AE degrees, and 2 of them have EE backgrounds.

For working in defense, would it be better to get a MS in AE, ME, physics, or a combination of these?

As donpacion pointed out, it isn't a big deal to get a grad degree in a different field. I have a BS in Math and a BS in Finance. I started my grad education in a MS in Pure Math, realized I preferred applied math, realized applied math programs are a lot of pure math with a just flavor of applied on the side, and then just said screw this and transferred to a MS in Mech E where I take more applied math, physics, EE, CS, and ME courses than in applied. I don't have an undergraduate understanding in Engineering, but I still have a 3.7 GPA in Mech E so it is doable without the the undergrad knowledge in the field.

Likes 1 person
Dustinsfl said: