Electronics: Can I Improve Math Skills?

In summary: You should beef up your math before you get into elcetronics study as many concepts depend on a certain level of math. Digital electronics may be somewhat easier on the math stressing boolean algebra concepts. However, more diverse analog electronics may require Calculus and beyond.
Boubacar
Hello, I am very confuse and I need advice. Here it is, I always loved computers and bricollage. During my free time I always look for stuff to bricoller or I stay at my computer all the time ... I'm in first grade in computer graphics and now I realize that what I really want to do is in the field of electronics. The problem is that I'm not good at math and I wonder if I could improve it when I would do a background in electronic.
Hoping you can help me, THANKS

Physics news on Phys.org
You should beef up your math before you get into elcetronics study as many concepts depend on a certain level of math. Digital electronics may be somewhat easier on the math stressing boolean algebra concepts. However, more diverse analog electronics may require Calculus and beyond.

Here's a wikipedia article on the math needed to study electronics:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mathematical_methods_in_electronics

Likes Boubacar
Bricollage? Bricolage? The word is not common, but some web-search listings are found. No clear meaning. At best, tinkering or Do-It-Yourself.

The community colleges had Electronics courses but many years ago. Now, if you want to learn Electronics, you need to go through an undergraduate Engineering program. You need Mathematics. You must learn logic, boolean algebra, Trigonometry, and Calculus. Also Algebra at least to the intermediate level.

Likes Boubacar
symbolipoint said:
Bricolage?

French for "do-it-yourself", with a connotation of unprofessionalism about it.

Your options for studying electronics and the prerequisite mathematics surely depend on which country you're in (or plan to study in).