1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Engineering physics: Which specialization? Bio-phys vs applied-phys

Tags:
  1. Dec 21, 2013 #1
    Hi! The time has come to choose the specialization of my EP degree, and for this occasion I hope it's OK to make a very self-centred thread :p. Here's what I study: http://www.ntnu.edu/studies/mtfyma. The 3 choices are: math, applied physics and biophysics.

I don't think I want to specialize in mathematics (even though I find it much easier than physics), but rather some form of phyiscs. So I guess it's between biology or more technical stuff.

Under both biophysics and applied physics I can choose pretty much any concentration I want, but my problem is that I have very little knowledge of upper-level physics or what it's like. I am frankly overwhelmed by the options and unable to make a decision. So could you guys help me choose what I should specialize in?

Stuff I enjoy/am interested in:

* Technology. I have always been fascinated by the technological progress of humanity, and so this is definitely something I want to be a part of.

* Space exploration. A very interesting field - very adventurous and fascinating. I enjoy the novelty of exploration.

* How the brain works. I've always wanted to know more about it, and would be interested to see if it's possible to amplify its workings.

* Evolution. I've always found it very interesting and fundamental, and think it's cool how it can be used to optimize processes in computer science.

* Cutting-edge technology. I like ambitious goals and unexplored territory.

* Working internationally. Anywhere else than Norway.