Finding angle b/w line equation and tangent.

In summary, you need to find the points of intersection of the line y= -3x+ 11 and the curve, and the line y= -2x+ 10 and the curve. Once you have found these points, you can use the slope of the line to find the angle between the lines.
SolCon
Greetings to all. :)
This is my first time posting here, so if I do anything wrong, just tell me. :)
On to the question.

Alright, this question came in 3 parts. I've done the first 2 parts but have no clue on doing the third part. There are two equations (below) and a constant k.

Relevant equations and data:

.Curve: xy=12
.Line 'l': 2x+y=k
.k=10
.One of the points of intersection is P(2,6).

The task is to find the angle (in degrees) between 'l' and the tangent to the curve at P.

I really don't have any idea on how this is to be done. Maybe there's some formula that must be followed but I don't know what it could be.

Thanks for any help. :)

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF!

Greetings SolCon! Welcome to PF! :smile:

Hint: the tangent of the tangent (ie the tangent of the angle between the the tangent and the x axis) is dy/dx. :wink:
SolCon said:
This is my first time posting here, so if I do anything wrong, just tell me. :)

:biggrin: Use more smilies! o:)

As tiny-tim says, the tangent of the angle between a curve (tangent line to the curve) and the x-axis is the derivative, dy/dx, evaluated at that point. The tangent of the angle between a line and the x-axis is, of course, the slope.

To find the tangent of the angle between two lines (the tantgent line of the curve and the given line, say) use the fact that
[tex]tan(\theta_1- \theta_2)= \frac{tan(\theta_1)- tan(\theta_2)}{1+ tan(\theta_1)tan(\theta_2)}[/tex]
(I think that's right- better check whether it is "1+ " or "1- " in the denominator.)