Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Homework Help: Firing angle in rectifiers and inverters.

1. Aug 16, 2011 #1
    Hello everyone I am a newbie to electrical engineering, I have this problem I've been strugling with, no textbook seems to cover this problem..

A three-phase, 440-V, generator delivers 5400W of active power through two recti-fies, A and B, into a three-phase, 230-V, line as shown in Figure 3.
    The dc current through the inductor is 20A. If power loss in both rectifiers are negligible, calculate:

(a). Firing angle of the rectifier A;
    (b). Firing angle of the rectifier (inverter) B.

This is my attempt ;

V out = 5400/ 20 = 270
    For inductive load

VOUT = 1.35 × VLINE × cos α

Where ‘α’ is the firing angle of the rectifier.

Therefore,

cos α = V / 1.35 x Vline

α = 29

how does this seem? and how is the inverter's firing angle different?

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 17, 2011 #2
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

Hello everyone I am a newbie to electrical engineering, I have this problem I've been strugling with, no textbook seems to cover this problem..

A three-phase, 440-V, generator delivers 5400W of active power through two recti-fies, A and B, into a three-phase, 230-V, line as shown in Figure 3.
    The dc current through the inductor is 20A. If power loss in both rectifiers are negligible, calculate:

(a). Firing angle of the rectifier A;
    (b). Firing angle of the rectifier (inverter) B.

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solutionThis is my attempt ;

V out = 5400/ 20 = 270
    For inductive load

VOUT = 1.35 × VLINE × cos α

Where ‘α’ is the firing angle of the rectifier.

Therefore,

cos α = V / 1.35 x Vline

α = 29

how does this seem? and how is the inverter's firing angle different?

4. Aug 18, 2011 #3

NascentOxygen

Staff: Mentor

Where is Fig 3?

5. Aug 18, 2011 #4