Four Momentum in General Relativity

In summary, the author defines p_0=-E when discussing trajectories in the Schwarzschild metric, but changes the definition later to include metrics where the 00 component is -1.
MrBillyShears
Gold Member
Alright, I'm rather new to General Relativity, and I'm getting confused with four momentum. Back in SR, [itex]p^α=mU^α[/itex], but, this relationship doesn't hold in curved space, does it? Because, now I'm seeing that four momentum is somehow a covector in GR, and [itex]p_0=-E[/itex], so the time component of the contravariant component can't be E, since the 00 component of the metric isn't always -1. So, is four momentum now redefined in GR, and if the SR relationship between four velocity isn't valid, what is the new relationship to U? Is four momentum naturally a covariant thing?

Physics news on Phys.org
MrBillyShears said:
Back in SR, [itex]p^α=mU^α[/itex], but, this relationship doesn't hold in curved space, does it? Because, now I'm seeing that four momentum is somehow a covector in GR,
I am not sure if this is your concern, but you would probably call both ##p^α=mU^α## and ##p_α=mg_{\mu α}U^{\mu}## "the four momentum". If you need to distinguish between the two verbally you would call one "the four momentum vector" and the other "the four momentum covector".

MrBillyShears said:
and [itex]p_0=-E[/itex], so the time component of the contravariant component can't be E, since the 00 component of the metric isn't always -1.
##p_0=-E## would only hold in metrics where the 00 component is -1. In GR that won't always be the case. The 00 component may not be the time-time component. In fact, there may not even be a time-time component. Regardless, the definition above will hold, even if the components don't have such a clear interpretation.