Should I Pursue a Degree in Geophysics or Switch Back to Physics?

In summary: Get caught up in the conversation, not the sales pitch. In summary, if you want to pursue a career in geophysics, you should consider continuing your undergraduate studies with a degree in Applied Physics with a minor in Earth Science.
petie320
Hey everyone, I'm a longtime lurker, first time poster.

I'm currently a second year undergrad student enrolled in BS.c of geophysics with a minor in physics. I'm interested in pursuing a career in geophysics, however, I'm not sure I'm going about it in the best way. The way I see it, I have two options:

1. continue with the BS.c geophysics with minor in physics OR
2. switch majors to experimental physics, and upon graduation specialize into geophysics

My concern with getting an undergrad in geophysics is that there is not as much focus on math and physics courses as there would be in a pure physics degree (I guess that's obvious). Anyone have any opinions on what i should do? I don't want to neglect the fundamental courses, however it seems logical to get a geophysics degree if my intention is to pursue a career in geophysics.

PS. i was originally in experimental physics and only recently switched to geophysics. Switching back would not be hard.

Physics news on Phys.org
Questions you might want to ask:
- Have graduates of your current geophysics program gone into geophysics graduate school?
- If they have, how successful have they been? (You may want to try contacting some of them. Most grad students are reasonably happy to answer a few polite questions from an undergrad.)
- What courses specifically would you be missing?
- What courses do you get out of the geophysics major that you wouldn't in the experimental physics major?