Getting a Masters with a Computer Science degree

In summary, if you're interested in pursuing a computer engineering masters, you should check out the entry requirements for the programs you're interested in and see if you can get them in line with your long-term goals.
Jakecrews28
Right now I am a sophomore studying to be a computer science major. As of now I am wanting to go to grad school to get a masters. I was curious though if computer science was the only thing I could get a masters in though. Such as would it be possible to get a masters in computer engineering instead? I know physics majors can get a masters in engineering so I was curious to know.

Physics news on Phys.org
If you enjoy and excel in calculus/linear algebra, you could pursue statistics. Statistics is heavily computational these days, and your programming skills would be incredibly useful. The minimum requirements for most grad programs is just calc 1-3 and linear algebra. Of course coursework in stats and real analysis would be beneficial as well.

I can't help but wonder if it might be better to simply figure out what direction you want to go in, rather than trying to figure out what options you technically qualify for given your current trajectory.

The thing with graduate school is that you don't want to just meet the minimum criteria for acceptance, because that will put you at a huge disadvantage compared to your classmates as you go through your advanced coursework and prepare for any qualifying exams if applicable. You want to be the guy who took the necessary pre-requisites, regardless of what your degree title is, because otherwise you'll be playing a lot of catch-up when you should be doing review and learning the more advanced material.