Good Books on Physics: Suggestions for High School Students

In summary, a high school student is seeking book recommendations on physics and mentions previously enjoying "Quantum Enigma" by Bruce Rosenblum and Fred Kuttner. One suggestion is "The Feynman Lectures on Physics" for those familiar with calculus, while "The Flying Circus of Physics" by Jearl Walker is recommended for beginners. Another individual suggests starting with more rigorous texts, such as "Halliday and Resnick" and incorporating calculus.
RobbyClimie
Good Morning/Afternoon all,

I'm a high school student in search of some good books on physics. Previously I have read "Quantum Enigma" by Bruce Rosenblum and Fred Kuttner, it really sparked my interest in physics and I can't get enough. I hope some of you have good suggestions.

Sincerly,
Robby

Physics news on Phys.org
If you know calculus, I recommend The Feynman Lectures on Physics. Otherwise I'd check out his more pop sci books.

"The Flying Circus of Physics", by Jearl Walker.
There is an older version with answers on the back, so that you will not be tempted to read them before trying to think for yourself.

It can be a bit 'advanced' in some parts but it will turn a spark of love for physics into a vivid flame.

Last edited:
Why waste your time on pop-sci books? Why not get your feet wet and do some actually rigorous physics texts? It's way more satisfying. You can start with some things like Halliday and Resnick (be sure to do some calculus in the mean while).

Hello Robby,

It's great to hear that you are interested in physics and have already read a book that sparked your interest. There are so many great books on physics that it can be overwhelming to choose just a few to recommend. However, here are some suggestions that I think would be beneficial for high school students: