Good resources for introductory solid state physics and QM

In summary, you should study introductory texts / online lectures that will make you get the basics of quantum mechanics, and after doing the necessary maths and QM, you should study introductory texts / lectures / books to get the basics of solid state physics (theories).
ZAN Nabil
Hello,I'm new here and this is my first post.
I am a freshman electronics and communication engineering student.I didn't study any quantum mechanics or solid state physics before(not in high school).
But for my first year course i need to study solid state physics.The books we are suggested to follow are Electronic Devices & Circuits(Millman),Solid state electronics devices(Streetman).But I don't understand most of the theories.And our professor somehow expect us to just get the concepts without much understanding(at least other students think that).
So,I want to know what should i study before attempting solid state physics and solid state electronics.
I want to know some introductory texts / online lectures that will make me get the basics of quantum mechanics.
And what kind of mathematical knowledge should i have to study introductory QM(I know single variable calculus)?
Then after doing the necessary maths and QM what introductory texts/lectures/books should i follow to get the basics of solid state physics (theories) ?
(Note:I am pretty bad at following books which are more than 400 or 500 pages).as I just want to get the basics I'm expecting some books that assumes i have no previous knowledge on the subject and self contained.If there are good online tutorials or courses it would be better,if books it should be less than 500 pages.

Physics news on Phys.org
After understanding the Schroedinger equation and the particle in a well and the hydrogen atom, the Kronig-Penney model is probably the most useful, since one can get an intuition for why band structure arises.