Good universitites worldwide for pulsed lasers?

• Thread starter ratmmmb
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Lasers
In summary, the speaker is currently pursuing a Masters in Optics and Photonics and plans to work with short laser pulses for their PhD. They have applied to various universities, including Imperial College London, UC Berkeley, ETH Zurich, Max Planck Institute, Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne, Stanford, and Caltech. They are seeking advice for other universities with international PhD programs in pulsed lasers. The University of Rochester, CU Boulder, and Georgia Tech are mentioned as having strong groups in ultrafast lasers, while St. Andrews in Scotland may also have a group. The department at the University of Rochester also has a group interested in ultrafast pulse lasers.
ratmmmb
Hello,

I'm finishing a Masters in Optics and Photonics a the moment (and I have a Bachelors in Physics) and I'm planning on working on short laser pulses for my PhD next year. I have applied to Imperial College London, UC Berkeley, ETH Zurich, Max Planck Institute in Munich, Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne as well as some others in related topics (Stanford, Caltech etc). Does anyone have advice for other universities that have international PhD programmes (i.e. in English, although I also speak German and some French, but it seems most programmes in Switzerland, Germany, France etc are in English anyway for post-grad stuff) that involve pulsed lasers? Thanks a lot.

Ben

Physics news on Phys.org
The University of Rochester (in NY) has an excellent optics program. Their Laboratory for Laser Energetics studies laser fusion with petawatt laser pulses. (Lawrence Livermore National Lab has an even bigger laser fusion program.)

Here's the particular groups I know of developing ultrafast lasers:
CU Boulder has the Murnane/Kaptyen group.
Georgia Tech has the Rick Trebino group.