1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

GRE for Ivy League?

1. Mar 12, 2005 #1
    This question may seem a little premature, since I'm only an undergrad, but what should GRE scores be if I want to get into Cornell or some other Ivy league school? I don't know if this has any impact, but if I was accepted I intend to pursue a master's in mathematics.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 12, 2005 #2
    I always try to do the best I can.

4. Mar 13, 2005 #3

Astronuc

Staff: Mentor

As mmapcpro indicated, just do your best. Get as high a score as possible, which hopefully reflects that you are a competent and knowledgable student and not just a great at taking tests.

5. Mar 13, 2005 #4

SpaceTiger

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

It depends on the program you're applying to. I was applying to Physics, so they (all of the schools, ivy or not) were much more concerned about my Physics GRE score than the regular GRE. For the regular, they wanted a high math score (if you don't get nearly all of the math problems right, you shouldn't be in physics) and competent scores on the other sections.