Halogen light bulb filament thicknesses?

In summary, the bulbs might not be 100 watt, and a 20 amp fuse might not be enough to protect the bulb.
MRunknown
Hello, new to the forum, just a average guy, not too much more informed on physics then the average person, so this will be a pretty simple question, anyway, to my question:

with halogen bulbs, does higher wattage always mean thicker filament? Because i am trying to work out if tricky Chinese are making -30 Watt bulbs and selling them as h3 12v 100W.

Thanks!
MRunknown

Science news on Phys.org
I am not an expert in light-bulb manufacturing, but I can share what I do know. Filament based light bulbs take advantage of the resistivity of certain metals. When a current passes through this wire heat is generated and, in turn, light is emitted. The intensity of the light depends on the temperature of the wire. The key idea, resistivity, depends on the properties of the metal AND it's cross-section. The thicker the wire, the LOWER the resistance. A thin wire has more resistance if they are made of the same materials. Having said that, you must also take into account several other factors. Heat from the filament causes the wire to literally evaporate and also increases the rate of oxidation, which is why they are usually under vacuum or inert gases. This is different in a halogen bulb, from what I've read a halogen lamp induces a chemical reaction in which the thrown-off metal of the wire can redeposit itself back onto the wire. So, taking all these factors into account I don't have a direct answer for you. Had the bulb been a non-halogen light bulb they would have to almost certainly use a thicker wire or it would blow too fast, but the halogen chain cycle makes things different.