1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Having a BS physics, want to do a BS math

1. Mar 16, 2012 #1
    Hi, everyone~

I have a bachelor degree in physics (in a top China university), and I am doing a master in theoretical physics (in a top UK university) now. However, I am becoming increasingly interested in pure mathematics, and I am seriously considering being a mathematician.

I tried to apply for several math master programs this year but failed at all of them : ( I guess that is because my background is not strong enough.

Therefore I am thinking of doing a math bachelor degree. I plan to apply for US colleges mainly. Information for my situation is rare. So may I ask if you know anything about similar cases?

For instance,

1) Do I still need recommendations/grades from high school ?
    2) I have some academic publications (on Physical Review D), how much do they help?
    3) Will it be harder to get financial aid?

Any comments are much appreiciated!

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 16, 2012 #2

chiro

Science Advisor

Hey Stan Marsh.

I would recommend you look for a masters in mathematics over a bachelors degree. If you have the calculus sequence, linear alegbra, some complex calculus then you could go for some kind of graduate diploma program before going for a fully blown masters.

This is how it works in the Australian system and I'm sure there must be some kind of equivalent in the states.

Personally I think you should be able to get straight into a masters program, but you will probably have to pay for it upfront. In terms of financial aid, I don't know anything about that for the US system.

The fact that you have a BS in physics will mean that they won't care about your HS marks at all.