Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Help in newbie for circuitry

1. Oct 8, 2006 #1
    I'm a mechanical engineering student but i'm tasked to do up a electromagnet circuit..any help willl be greatly appreciated!

I need to be able to vary the strength and direction of the field of the electromagnet. I have absolutely no idea how to go about doing this because i almost never handle circuits in all my years of studying. Pls help!!

thanx!

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 8, 2006 #2

Ouabache

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Welcome to PF!! You'll find some helpful folks on this forum (as long as you show some effort). There are also lots of interesting posts that are quite fascinating reading..

Regarding building your electromagnet. Have you done some research around the net?
    Here is one reference I found on quick search..
    http://science.howstuffworks.com/electromagnet.htm

4. Oct 9, 2006 #3

Danger

Gold Member

Welcome again to PF. I'm no expert by any means, but your strength of magnetism will be dependent upon the applied voltage, and the direction of the field will vary with the polarity of that voltage. Others here will give you better answers.

5. Oct 9, 2006 #4
    i do have a electromagnet at hand..now is the circuitry to change the direction and strength of the field..
    i have a toggle switch and a slider resistor..i have access to alot of others if need b...thanx for all the help so far!!

6. Oct 9, 2006 #5

NoTime

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

What do you mean by change direction?
    You could just rotate the coil.

7. Oct 9, 2006 #6
    rotate the coil? issit possible to do it with a switch? the magnet shld jus b left there..

8. Oct 9, 2006 #7
    You know an electromanget is just many turns of wire wound around an iron core? Right