Proving Convergence of Positive Series Using Ratio Test: A Guide

• Thread starter Jamin2112
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Proof
In summary, the problem asks for a series that converges but has an infinite value for one term. If this series converges, then the value of the term after the infinite term will be 0.
Jamin2112

Homework Statement

I'm studying for my final next week (In other words, I'll be asking a lot of questions on here).

One practice problem from the book reads

Prove that, if ∑an and ∑bn are series of positive terms with ∑bn convergent and an/bn --> 0, then ∑an is convergent.

Homework Equations

Whatever

The Attempt at a Solution

So, if an/bn --> 0, then either

bn ---> ∞ or -∞ AND an ---> some finite number;

or bn ----> some finite number AND an ---> 0.

The second option is true given that ∑bn is convergent.

? I don't. Help me with a good way of explaining this.

Physics news on Phys.org
Take the following with a grain of salt, and perhaps ignore it as I don't have much experience with formalized dealings with series. But I have an intuitive suggestion that may lead to the proof. (Or it could be just down right wrong.)

If [tex]\Sigma b_{n}[/tex] converges, I think that implies [tex]b_{n}[/tex] goes to zero.
(The contrapositive of the theorem that if a sequence does not go to zero, then the series diverges.)
Now if [tex]b_{n}[/tex] goes to zero, then this has some implications for what [tex]\frac{a_{n}}{b_{n}}[/tex] actually means. Namely it would seem that if [tex]b_{n}[/tex] is going to zero, then that would cause the fraction to go to infinity. Since it doesn't, this means [tex]a_{n}[/tex] is forced to behave in a very particular way.

I think there lies the proof.