Historical and Philosophical Foundations for Mathematics, Writing a Math Book

• Thread starter Caramon
  • Start date

Main Question or Discussion Point

Hello,
Recently I've been attempting to put together a brief book on mathematics. The first section is short and introductory as I lead up into calculus. I kind of feel bad that I skipped over conics, geometric series, permutations and combinations, transformations of functions, and so many other topics... but I assume anyone who would be reading at this level already knows that and is possibly looking for a brief recap or some additional insight.

I'm by no means a professional mathematician and am finishing my undergraduate in Astrophysics so I am not a math major either. Please let me know if any information is erroneous or does not make sense, and all feedback is appreciated!

Here it is for download:
http://www.freefilehosting.net/historicalandphilosophicalfoundationsformathematics"

Thank you!

Last edited by a moderator:

Answers and Replies

I'd be happy to give your book a look-through, but I'm not downloading it from that site. If you want, post a link to a PDF or a more secure source.

Why not put the document on scribd? www.scribd.com
It's a very reliable site!!

I found it very interesting you should update the thread when you add more to it. I would add a section on the basic formulas/equations in algebra II and Geometry. It really goes well with the recap you mentioned in your first post: Like Area,Perimeter and Volume for basic shapes. You could also go into detail on how these formulas were discovered.

chiro
Science Advisor
A couple of suggestions

When talking about calculus, you could explain the motivation of trying to find different measures (like length, area, volume etc) in cases where you don't have straight lines: so basically its the generalization of linear problems to non-linear problems.