Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How are chemical bonds described by quantum mechanics?

1. Jun 5, 2014 #1
    I'm currently doing my Bachelor's in Physics(1st year). My textbooks aren't too clear on quantum mechanical concepts. "Bonds are formed by overlapping orbitals". I have several questions.
    I've seen the graph of potential energy versus distance. For some pairs of atoms like hydrogen it dips at a certain distance and increases, whereas for others, like two Helium atoms it keeps going up. Why is this? I'm assuming the repulsion arises out of the Pauli exclusion principle, but why do some pairs of atoms have a lower potential state while others don't? We've dabbled a bit into molecular orbitals but its rather confusing. Is it that quantum math(Schroedinger's equation) allows such states only for certain pairs of atoms? We've not done a detailed section on Schroedinger"s equation yet, just the basics.
    Next up, because all orbitals(except for s) are directional, does a bond form only when the atoms approach at a certain angle?

I look forward to a great time at Physics Forums!

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 5, 2014 #2

Simon Bridge

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

Welcome to PF;
    The quantum mechanics of atomic bonds is usually a senior or postgrad study.
    It is possible you don;t have the tools to understand it beyond "overlapping orbitals".
    Is this a chemistry course you are doing?

Because that is what you get when you do the maths.

It sounds like you are talking about a graph of the work needed to get two nuclei a particular distance apart. The dip is because the electrons are able to partly counteract the repulsion of the nuclei.

... that would be a poor assumption. Nuclei have the same charge, so they repel each other.