How can I retrieve integers from a file in Python?

In summary, the conversation is discussing difficulties in retrieving numbers from a file using different techniques in Python. The code provided is not properly splitting each line into individual numbers, and the conversation suggests trying different methods such as using spaces or commas to separate the numbers.
Jonas
TL;DR Summary
Trying to retrieve integers from two separeate files with different conditions.
Hey.

Im pretty new to Python (and programming in general in fact). I have received two different files, each containing 10 000 integers mixed up with some commas, colons, and \n, and in one of the files there are also negative numbers. I have tried all day retrieving those numbers using all the different techniques i have found online, in the books etc to be able to finish the excercise. But nothing seems to work, i can't convert them to floats or integers no matter what i do. The files are formatted in such way that it's 10 numbers ( in one of them it's ranging from -999 to 999, and in the other from 0 to 999) per row and then a line-break.
Code:
with open(numbers_A) as f:
    for line in f:
        line = line.strip()
        a = line.replace(',','')
        lista.append(a)
    print(len(lista))

This gives the result 1000 (length of list).
If i try to convert a to int or float i get an error. So i interpret that as one line from the file => one entry in the list. Whereas i would like to think that there are 10 000 entries - one for each value. The task after this is trivial, calculate mean and standard dev. If anyone have an idea i would be thankful.

Technology news on Phys.org
Jonas said:
i interpret that as one line from the file => one entry in the list

Yes, that's correct. All your code is doing is stripping whitespace from each line and removing commas from each line. It isn't doing anything to split each line into individual numbers.