Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How Do I Make a Grossly Overexpanded Rocket Nozzle Exhaust Jet Stable?

1. May 19, 2014 #1
    I have a question regarding the design of rocket nozzles. I am not an engineer nor a physicist but I am involved in amateur experimental rocketry and I was curious regarding grossly overexpanded nozzles.

599px-Rocket_nozzle_expansion.svg.png

According to Wikipedia a grossly overexpanded rocket nozzle (very bottom of the above image) burns more efficiently but the exhaust jet is not stable. I would assume that is because in the case of a grossly overexpanded nozzle, the jet flows more freely but maintaining pressurization within the motor casing and thus creating an even burn rate becomes a problem. I might be fundamentally wrong on this assumption, but, assuming the above is correct, theoretically couldn't you make a nozzle that converges on the throat, diverges into gross overexpansion, and then releases into a sort of second nozzle. I guess I'm thinking like a two-stage nozzle that will capture the efficiency of gross overexpansion, but fix the problem of engine pressurization and unstable exhaust jet.

Please feel free to correct any and all misconceptions above.

2. jcsd
  3. May 19, 2014 #2

boneh3ad

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Where is the source that says that a grossly underexpanded nozzle is the most efficient? I have never heard of that and it seems quite counter-intuitive given that it means that the nozzle is unstarted and will likely have a subsonic exhaust.

4. May 19, 2014 #3
    According to the Wikipedia article, it cites this as the source

Huzel, D. K. and Huang, D. H. (1971). NASA SP-125, Design of Liquid Propellant Rocket Engines (2nd Edition ed.). NASA.Technical report

5. May 19, 2014 #4
  6. May 19, 2014 #5

boneh3ad

Science Advisor
    Gold Member