How long can you maintain your concentration span?

In summary: I forget what it is, but it's like a cave. I put on some headphones and I am in my own world. I am completely focused on the material. I can study for hours and hours and not get overwhelmed. I usually take a break for 30-60 minutes and then continue.In summary, people with ADHD find it difficult to study for long periods because they get overwhelmed. They should try to find a way to study that doesn't require them to be completely absorbed in the material. They can try to find a way to study in a separate area that is insulated and have headphones on to block out other distractions.
WiFO215
I can read for upto 3 hours before my brain feels saturated. It doesn't matter what it is I am studying after approx. 3 hours in and I can't take in any more. I take a break for 10 minutes but this doesn't seem to help much. When I come back I still feel saturated. How do I expand this? I would like to be able to study longer periods.

Physics news on Phys.org
Literally only a few sec-

anirudh215 said:
I can read for upto 3 hours before my brain feels saturated. It doesn't matter what it is I am studying after approx. 3 hours in and I can't take in any more. I take a break for 10 minutes but this doesn't seem to help much. When I come back I still feel saturated. How do I expand this? I would like to be able to study longer periods.
What do you do for those ten minutes? Try something that radically alters your thoughts, makes you actually forget the book for ten minutes. Go for a run, clean the eaves.

It really depends what the subject is. An uninteresting book, less than a page. If I'm studying something I'm really really interested in, I can study it for 6 hours... probably more but I usually take an extended break by then.

anirudh215 said: