Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How many engineers here have a PhD?

1. I have a PhD, and I work in Industry

1 vote(s)
    2.6%
  2. I have a PhD, and I work in Academia (Researcher or Professor)

1 vote(s)
    2.6%
  3. I don't have a PhD, and I work in Industry or Academia (Researcher/Other)

13 vote(s)
    34.2%
  4. I am not an engineer (My opinion is unimportant for this poll =P)

23 vote(s)
    60.5%
  1. Feb 7, 2010 #1

Pyrrhus

Homework Helper

... and work in Industry or Academia?

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 7, 2010 #2
    I had 3 Phd and 1 Masters engineers in my team at my last work.. I thought that was awesome!

4. Feb 7, 2010 #3

Astronuc

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

I started a PhD but left uni for industry before completing it. Several of our engineers have PhDs. Most of the work involves developing models from theory and experiment and applying the models in FE analysis.

5. Feb 7, 2010 #4

brewnog

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

No PhD for me, no intention of doing one either.

6. Feb 7, 2010 #5

Lisa!

Gold Member

I'm getting my masters right now! The poll is so incomplete!:biggrin:
    Can I ask why?:shy:

7. Feb 7, 2010 #6
    I am applying for BME phd programs this summer.

8. Feb 7, 2010 #7

brewnog

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Of course. Towards the end of my BEng I just got fed up with academia and longed to get a job. Five years on, my career is starting to become a bit less technical, a bit more managerial, and the field I cover is too broad for any further study (at least at PhD level) to have any real benefit to what I do.

9. Feb 7, 2010 #8

Ivan Seeking

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Some advice that I got from an old aerospace engineer: Never let them turn you into a manager.