Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How many ways to determine signal frequency?

1. Dec 27, 2011 #1
    Hi,

Does anyone have idea on how to determine signal frequency?

I am a first year graduate student in biomedicine and previously studied some general engineering, not really very versed in mathematics. We have lots of data measured from human to analysis, including EEG, heart pulse and others.

I would like to know what is the appropriate method to determine the frequency of a signal? For example, if you know a person’s heart is beating regularly which a man could count, how to count it with machine?

Since I just started working in this area, I would like to gather as much information as possible to do a comparison. For example, I heard from people that Discrete Fourier Transform might be used to determine frequency. DFT is of course in the undergraduate curriculum, but how to do that?

What about wavelet transform? I frequently saw its name associated with image processing, but most of the signals we process, such as EEG, are 1-D rather than 2-D image data. Does wavelet also apply to 1-D data? Can it be used for frequency determination?

And what about other types of transforms such as discrete cosine transform and Hankel transform? I would very much like to know how many methods already exist there.

Sincerely wish someone could give a survey on this topic, particularly for 1-D data.

Tim

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 27, 2011 #2

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

Welcome to the PF, Tim.

If the waveform is simple and centered about zero volts, then you can just count the time between zero crossings and do a little math to give you a running frequency number.

If the waveform is more complicated like an EKG waveform, then you will need to do more processing to distinguish the P-Q-R-S-T parts of the waveform, and do some other processing to calculate the heart rate.